Today's Posts

Search

Get the Weekly
Inkling
newsletter

Previous Issues

Splitcoaststampers's privacy policy

Get Social

Splitcoaststampers on InstagramLike Splitcoaststampers on FacebookFollow Splitcoaststampers on TwitterPit Splitcoaststampers on Pinterest

Sponsored Ads

Splitcoaststampers.com - the world's #1 papercrafting community
You're currently viewing Splitcoaststampers as a GUEST. We pride ourselves on being great hosts, but guests have limited access to some of our incredible artwork, our lively forums and other super cool features of the site! You can join our incredible papercrafting community at NO COST. So what are you waiting for?

Join the party at Splitcoaststampers today!

Old 09-24-2013, 10:56 AM   #1  
Compulsive Stamper

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Paper Trimmers

Hi ... I have been making cards for over 20 years, teaching and selling my hand made cards and this if the first time I have had a challenge I can not figure out. I have a large industrial paper cutter (Carl's) for large cutting which is working well and I love it. And I have a Firskar (old old model) for the smaller cuts. About 4-5 months ago I started having to change the blades in my smaller cutter all the time (I use the triple action titanium blades) and it started me wonder why I was going through them so fast. It chews up my paper very badly, if I put a couple layers down it did not always do it but sometimes it did. I kept cleaning and blowing off my blade and track to be sure nothing was stuck in them. Nothing seemed to work so I bought a new larger Friskar cutter. I will be taking it back since it is doing the same thing now, even on a single layer of card stock. In a class yesterday, I had people bring a cutter since I wanted to see other types and have them cut their own papers since I could not get good cuts. All of them started to have the same problems I have with their cutter but had not had the problem at their homes. I did discover that if I use a rotary