Today's Posts

Search

Get the Weekly
Inkling
newsletter

Previous Issues

Splitcoaststampers's privacy policy

Get Social

Splitcoaststampers on InstagramLike Splitcoaststampers on FacebookFollow Splitcoaststampers on TwitterPit Splitcoaststampers on Pinterest

Sponsored Ads

Splitcoaststampers.com - the world's #1 papercrafting community
You're currently viewing Splitcoaststampers as a GUEST. We pride ourselves on being great hosts, but guests have limited access to some of our incredible artwork, our lively forums and other super cool features of the site! You can join our incredible papercrafting community at NO COST. So what are you waiting for?

Join the party at Splitcoaststampers today!

Old 10-12-2014, 08:19 AM   #1  
Kookie Creator

Received 21 Likes on 9 Posts
Default Embossing newbie...colors and brands?

I'm just starting out with embossing and was wondering what brands, types and colors are best to start with. Unless I buy online, I only have access to Ms, ACMoore and Joann. All I own right now is Zing black. My thoughts are that maybe I should start with white and clear, but I don't know which type or brand would give the best result.

I see that there is also an "ultra fine" powder. Is that better than using regular embossing powder?

Thanks for your help.
mob
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote Likes
Old 10-12-2014, 10:32 AM   #2  
Mad Swapper

Received 132 Likes on 54 Posts

These would be my priorities by type:1-Clear (allows you to take advantage of all the pigment ink stamp pad colors you have)
2-Detail black (ideal for word embossing to get the desired fine lines and detail
3-Gold
4-Silver
5-White

You will see "Detail" as part of the color name. I have the gold and white in regular and also in detail type. I think my detail embossing powders are from Judikins and Stampendous, but you may have ready access to other brands.