Today's Posts

Search

Get the Weekly
Inkling
newsletter

Previous Issues

Splitcoaststampers's privacy policy

Get Social

Splitcoaststampers on InstagramLike Splitcoaststampers on FacebookFollow Splitcoaststampers on TwitterPit Splitcoaststampers on Pinterest

Sponsored Ads

Splitcoaststampers.com - the world's #1 papercrafting community
You're currently viewing Splitcoaststampers as a GUEST. We pride ourselves on being great hosts, but guests have limited access to some of our incredible artwork, our lively forums and other super cool features of the site! You can join our incredible papercrafting community at NO COST. So what are you waiting for?

Join the party at Splitcoaststampers today!

Old 03-02-2007, 06:10 AM   #1  
Cardstock Collector

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to stamping - have questions

Hello, all! I'm new to stamping... so new in fact, that I've not yet done any! :p I'm ready to spread my wings, though, so I hope you don't mind a few "duh" questions from me. ;) I'll start with a few basic questions.

I know that SU is a reputable company for buying stamps, but what about other companies? Are the stamps that are sold in craft stores like Hobby Lobby and Michaels worth buying?

What makes a "good" stamp? What do I look for? How do I know if I want acrylic or rubber? What about foam?

Also, are all inks created equal, or no? I'm assuming you "stamp" in one color, and then color in your creation with watercolor pencils or something?

TIA for your help!
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote Likes
Old 03-02-2007, 06:23 AM   #2  
Gabfest Goddess

To answer one or two of your questions:

My understanding is that if you want to use acrylic stamps, it's best to use chalk or pigment ink pads (as opposed to the more common dye ink pads).